Solar Still

Posted: August 25, 2011 in backyard, solar, water
Tags: , , , , , ,

Back in March I built a solar still in my backyard.  As Arizona is a dry place and my backyard does not have a creek in it, I tried to suck moisture out of plants.

This did not work.

I finally got around to editing the video.  Watch below if you care to watch my failed attempt as well as my first use of the fast-forward function.  If you don’t care to watch the video, the short version is that a solar still is a ridiculous amount of work for a ridiculously small amount of water.

On a side note, the raised garden did not work either.

Comments
  1. anoñmous says:

    You need to put a weight, like a rock, in the center of the tarp to slope it down towards the cup. Otherwise, there’s no flow of condensed water towards your cup, and you get the wet tarp bottom.

Leave a Reply

