Upcoming weekend plans

Posted: June 24, 2011 in Phoenix, prepper
Tags: , , ,

This weekend I will be in class on Friday night from 6 to 10, then 8 hours on Saturday and 8 hours on Sunday.  Sounds like fun, no?  I am taking a CERT class to learn how to help my community in the event of a national emergency.

The class sounds intense.  Not only is it a whole weekend dust in the wind, but we are covering the following……

  • Session I, DISASTER PREPAREDNESS:  hazards one can encounter and how familys should react before, during and after.
  • Session II, DISASTER FIRE SUPPRESSION:  Fire chemistry, hazardous materials, fire hazards, and fire suppression strategies.
  • Session III, DISASTER MEDICAL OPERATIONS PART I: Diagnosing and treating airway obstruction, bleeding, and shock by using simple triage and rapid treatment techniques.
  • Session IV, DISASTER MEDICAL OPERATIONS, PART II: Evaluating patients by doing a head to toe assessment, establishing a medical treatment area, performing basic first aid, and practicing in a safe and sanitary manner.
  • Session V, LIGHT SEARCH AND RESCUE OPERATIONS: Planning a rescue, including size-up, search techniques, rescue techniques, and most important, rescuer safety.
  • Session VI, DISASTER PSYCHOLOGY AND TEAM ORGANIZATION: Signs and symptoms that might be experienced by the disaster victim and worker.
    Session VII, COURSE REVIEW AND DISASTER SIMULATION
I did find it ironic that I had to sign up for the class by filling out a paper form in pen and mailing in my form by snail mail.
Below:  I hope the end of the world happens during the AZ State Fair.

scan0001

Comments
  1. Kris says:

    Love your blog, Kevin…and I always read it hearing your voice and inflection, which possibly unfortunately makes even the most serious comments funny. I am not taking this subject lightly, but you happen to be one funny guy.

  2. CC says:

    Can I bring you a cold beer on break? I’m sorry but thats some serious stuff!
    I’m surprised they accepted it by a mail carrier! I’d a thought they’d only accept if you walked it over and handed it to the person in charge in person.

Leave a Reply

