A doctor of the future!

Posted: May 26, 2011 in research, thoughts
Tags: ,

For years I have day-dreamed about getting my doctorate in Future Studies.  There are several reasons I would find this interesting and I think my past history of teaching High School Social Studies in Mexico City and Damascus Syria, combined with the MBA and eight years working in financial Services helps make me a good candidate.  But the coolest reason to do this would be I could tell people I am a Doctor, and when they asked “What kind of Doctor are you?” I could say “I am a doctor of THE FUTURE!”

There are only two Universities that offer a Doctorate in Future Studies, one in Texas and one in Hawaii.  Guess which one I would go to?  I will give you a hint, I only linked to that one.

As future studies is about the future, I wonder what it has to say about the end of the world.  So I been goggling around to see what I find.

If nothing else, the Wikipedia article on Future studies and clicking on the words one is not familiar with makes for an interesting read.  For example, eschatology is the study of the end of the world and how various religions deal with it.  Another idea, that is rife with material for Science Fiction short stories is technological singularity, a “hypothetical event occurring when technological progress becomes so rapid and the growth of artificial intelligence is so great that the future after the singularity becomes qualitatively different and harder to predict.”

Below:   A Mural from Romania on the subject of eschatology.

Scan0073

Leave a Reply

