Weekend update: Getting hot, hot, hotter!

Posted: May 16, 2011 in arizona, frontyard, Phoenix
Tags:

It is starting to get hot in Phoenix.  For the grand experiment I am going to see how long I can go without turning on the air.  At some point it becomes too hot to sleep, and I have a day job.  The goal is to see if I can make it to June  15.   If I could make it to the Summer Solstice, June 22, that would be amazing, or at least I would think that would be amazing.  Phoenix gets hot, like Baghdad hot.

For this to work I have got to make my front yard more livable. It gets the better summer shade and cools down quickest.  So this weekend was all about that,  one bougavellia plant gone, while the thorny plant was good to help protect the windows it was just a pain in the ass, and took up all of the best shade.  Second, was prepping and planning and scouting and raking.  Anybody got any ideas on where I can get 9feet by 9feet of Flagstone?

I also spent a Sunday Morning at Grow in beautiful downtown Phoenix, helping them get ready to hunker down for summer.  I wanted to see how they were approaching it.

Below: Sunflower seeds at Grow.

mayrandom 095

Comments
  1. CC says:

    I always swear that I can make it the first 2 weeks without AC. I’ve bent once this year and I came home today and the kids had the air on. This week should be nice… Next is not so bad but June become hell! June always has a day or two in the high 80’s but by June 22 we’re talking always over 100. Remember June 26 1990 they had tshirts made about surviving the 122 degree’s! Why do you want flagstone? it only absorbs more heat! Keep the dirt,,,, wet it and use it! If you wet it enough it turns hard and polished.

Leave a Reply

