Tools for the Apocalypse – Guns

Posted: April 19, 2011 in guns, security

When discussing tools needed during society’s fall the gun is the most obvious choice. Regardless how it all fall aparts, if it falls apart, then a gun will be needed.  Guns will be hard to come by if you wait too long to get one.

Growing up in North Carolina and living in Arizona means I have had plenty of chances to shoot guns.  I am a decent shot with a black-power shotgun, a rifle, a glock and a AK-47. 

gunsandgardens 009

I do need to learn how to clean and maintain a gun. But the only way to do that is to own a gun. I really don’t want to own a gun. There are two reasons guns scare me.

First, I am paranoid I might accidently shoot a loved one, friend or neighbor who I thought was a burglar. I once almost beamed an ex-girlfriend with a golf club because she had let herself in while I was sleeping.  Second, I am scarred late one night, knee deep in a bottle of whiskey and regret, I will pull  a Meriwether.

Of course, I live in a land famous for guns. So when the Great Meltdown occurs there will be a shit-load of guns floating around. Hell, probably the best place to raid will be Rental Stoarge units in Apache Junction, I bet you would find at least one armory for every 200 units.

With all that in mind, I am not going to buy a gun.  I hope I don’t come to regret my decision.

Scan0001

Comments
  1. Chef Redfern says:

    I will not be able to protect you being that you live so far away. Guns=freedom.

  2. Wreck-Age says:

    Black powder is the way to go if you are looking for sustainability. Sifting through manure for the potassium nitrate though… hoping that isn’t on my chores list in the post-apoc

Leave a Reply

