Post-Apocalypse Landscaping

Posted: March 17, 2011 in backyard, security
Tags: , , , , ,

As I been getting the garden ready, I been debating how I should landscape for the Apocalypse.

My front and backyards have already got some things going for them.  I have bougainvillea plants under two of the front windows, good for keeping the marauders out.

There is a large pine tree in my front yard.  This will be great if I ever need wood for burning.  Also the pine needles are great for the compost pile.  I never water this tree.  I think the roots have run underneath my neighbor’s yard.  She waters her grass every day.

I have two orange trees in the yard.  One of these trees I never water, and weirdly enough it is the one that does much better.  I have three aloe vera plants in the yard.  Good for medicine.

My backyard has a lot of bermuda grass.  I also never water this grass but it just keeps on growing.  The bermuda grass was there when I moved in.  I have never really encouraged nor discouraged its growth.  My orange trees, cacti, and mesquite trees have grown despite the fact that bermuda grass has.  I been debating is bermuda grass good or bad?

On the plus side, It grows on its own without me trying to help or hurt it.  It is good straw for adobe bricks.  It could be used to goose the solar still.

On the negative side it is not good for the compost pile and is bad for garden.

Below:  My front yard.

dancinghorsegridflagstaff 023

Leave a Reply

