Grocery shopping for Armageddon and how NYC would be the worst place to be

Posted: March 10, 2011 in food, Health, thoughts
Tags: , , , , ,

One of the sacred rules of the preppers is “Store what you eat, eat what you store.”  My fridge is currently empty on purpose.  I am going to see if I can buy exactly what would last me two weeks.  In two weeks I go to New York City (NYC) for four days and two days in Pennsylvania (PA).  I wonder how close I can time exactly two weeks of food.

On a side note, NYC is seen by most of the preppers, survivalists, naturalists, and hollywoodites as the worst place to be during the Apocalypse.  I am visiting my brother and his wife so I hope that the doomsayers are all wrong. Some may argue I have joined the doomsayers by my actions.   I hope my work is in vain (not really, I like having a garden and the forced domestication.)  In short, some might say I hope I am wrong.

I do.   It’s funny.  Spending so much energy on something you hope doesn’t happen.  It hints at unfulfilled frustration and laughing at yourself.  I suppose that is what attracts me to thinking about the end of the world as we know it.  I like dark humor.  Laughing at life while life ends just seems funny.  This is probably why we are attracted to the Joker.  And by “we” I mean me.

Below:  Photo taken during my last visit to NYC to see my brother.   We went to one of only two shooting galleries in the city for his bachelor party.

IMG_0043

Leave a Reply

