I am pleased to say I was stung by a bee

Posted: March 7, 2011 in backyard, garden, Health, medicinal, mesquite, plants
Tags: , , , ,

While I was trimming the mesquite trees this weekend I was stung by a bee. I have always been nervous about bees since I was stung as child and swelled up like Charlie Sheen’s head.   Also, once in Oaxacca I ate a bunch of grasshoppers and woke up that night covered in hives, and sweating bullets. I figure if you are allergic to one type of insects, you should best avoid the whole bunch. But I did not swell after this bee sting, I did flick versus slap the bee at first hint of sting, which helped (thank you survivorman). 

I debated using creosote to clean my wound. I decided against this as I wanted to see what happened with just the bee sting.  I did, however, use creosote for another purpose.  After prepping soil and getting seeds in the ground for tomatillos, squash, bush beans and the pole beans, the backyard had a lot of insects flying around.  My guess is the liked the manure.  So I started a smoky little fire with paper, cardboard, and creosote to run them off.  It worked amazingly well and smelled kind of nice too.

garden with dave Jan 2011 015

Comments
  1. I didn’t know that about creosote. I always worry about bees. I’ve never been stung but am paranoid about being allergic.

  2. Jason wosak says:

    That creosote may also work for marauding looters, you may want to keep that in good supply for the Apocalypse.

Leave a Reply

