Two medicinal herbs: Brittlebush and Creosote

Posted: February 20, 2011 in desert, Health, medicinal, plants, research
Tags: , , , ,

I have succesully turned Brittlebush and Creosote into medicine.

I have yet to actually try either of the medicines yet. I am a little scarred they might kill me.

solaerstill1fire1herb1 013

I cut a large hole in the top of two thin rectangular boxes and dried the leaves and stems in the boxes.

solaerstill1fire1herb1 008
Creosote on top and Brittlebush below.

solaerstill1fire1herb1 014
I put a paper towel between herbs and cardboard because I am not sure if cardboard would hurt the herbs. Is there some kind of weird die in cardboard?

solaerstill1fire1herb1 017

Brittlebush after dried.

after crunching

After crunching the plants up in my hands there was a lot less of each. I had not gathered nearly as much as I thought I had.

solaerstill1fire1herb1 030

Creosote is being stored in the old tuna can and Brittlebush is being stored in the clay pot.

Comments
  1. Kristi says:

    I’m not positive on this, but I don’t believe cardboard has any strange dyes, unless there is maybe some printed text on the box. The papertowels do have bleached fiber, so if you’re worried about exposing the drying herbs to odd substances that might be of more concern. However, I doubt there are any major repercussions.

  2. […] I had a small fire and burnt creosote in the embers.   We shall see how that works.  I notice the cats are not coming back as fast at […]

  3. […] and creosote. The seeds from the creosote I gathered myself in the desert. Creosote is truly the pharmacy of desert […]

Leave a Reply

