Survival Mom, solar oven and baking bread

Posted: February 15, 2011 in cooking, cooking, experiment, fire, food, oven, prepper, solar
Tags: , , , , , , ,

One of the rules or expressions among the preppers is “eat what you store and store what you eat.” Another sentiment is “practice is better than just reading,” which I totally agree with. With those two ideas in mind the Survival Mom challenges her readers to a monthly challenge or skill. January’s was to bake a loaf of bread from scratch.  

Last night I was talking with my old friend “J” who is quite the foodie, and has been trying all sorts of delicious baking experiments in the last couple of years.  She commented on how she had enjoyed my solar oven posts  because she is going to build a solar oven in order to bake bread in, which I think is awesome.  I told her about the Survival Mom’s challenge because there are (currently) 71 responses to her challenge and some of them would be quite useful for my friends goal.

Comments
  1. Jonathan says:

    Are we talking grinding the wheat yourself or just growing the yeast?

  2. The prepper community would probably say you should grind the wheat yourself, but I am not sure what J. is planning to do. Me, I am going to wait for her to try first. As I know nothing about bread. I know you do! Any recipe you would recommend?

Leave a Reply

