Insert Irony Here.

Posted: February 4, 2011 in plan, research, water
Tags: , ,

So in all of my preparations for the end times, I somehow overlooked paying my water bill for 4 months in a row. So the city shut off my water last night, today I got it turned back on.  I have no excuse for not paying my bill.  I find it funny that I spent so much time researching and experimenting on how to survive when the grid fails that I forgot to pay the bill and the grid, therefore, failed me.

I had to go to work without taking a shower, I suspect people noticed. I did have a 2.5 gallon plastic container of water that I had bought recently. I have been buying them to avoid drinking non-city water and also planned on using the empty containers for prepping seeds. So I had water to drink and rinse that night’s dishes, but it got me thinking how I bet it would have only lasted me two, maybe three days if I stretched it. If there had been no easy way to gather new water I would have been screwed.

So I think a good experiment would be to see how I would survive a weekend without any grid water. I am going to prep a little for the experiment. I am going to gather containers for water, first.

In a couple of weekends, the plan is a Friday afternoon after work, I am going to pretend that I would know the water was going to go out, so I will have two hours to gather as much water from the faucet as I can.  After that I turn the meter off and for the rest of the weekend I will only wash, clean, drink, or cook with water I gathered. I am curious to see how much water I will need. I am also curious to see how much more cleaning and cooking will be a pain in the ass without grid water.

I can tell you in my one night without water, I found cleaning dishes a surprising pain in the ass, and as I mentioned, earlier I had to go to work without taking a shower, and I think people noticed.  Awkward.

Comments
  1. phil murray says:

    don’t worry about the shower, after the grid fails we will all smell like real people again.

  2. bakeem says:

    KP this is the best. I just found your awesome blog today. It is never too early to start preparing for the Apocalypse, however I had one technical question about this “only the water I can gather” thing. It takes 1.6 (for the newer) and up to 4 gallons (for the older) toilets to flush. Are you including those metrics into your calculations for water consumption? Also, does stealing from the neighbors count? You might want to fill up your bathtub with then neighbors garden hose to help you get through this weekend.

Leave a Reply

