First attempt at eating cactus

Posted: January 30, 2011 in desert, edible, food, Health, research, Sonoran desert, survival, wild
Tags: , , , , , ,

Update: The cactus seems fine. I went back the next day, and then a week later. I plan to go again this weekend. The plant before looked like it was drying from that branch, but the root looked firm. The overall plant has about 9 spears. At this point, I suspect it will be fine.

I also learned that the hedgehog I ate had yellow needles because of coyote pee and not because I ate the wrong plant.

Comments
  1. Prickly Pear!!!! It’s tasty and has a nice fresh flavor. But your going to have to get used to the slime. Cactus is just slimy, sir. : )

  2. […] hedgehog cactus I ate about a month ago seems to be doing fine.  However, several people have told me the cactus I ate had yellow needles […]

  3. intereaction says:

    Gosh, I hope you have some water while you are trying to survive on cactus. Thanks for the laughs!

Leave a Reply

