Update on Apocalyptic gardening

Posted: January 5, 2011 in food, garden, research, water
Tags: , , , ,

So doing research on how to get garden ready, as Phoenix has two grow seasons, the first one starting in Mid – February, which is just around the corner.  A friend turned me on to a Phoenix specific planting and harvesting calendar, which led to a discovery of all other sorts of useful info, such as a nice video on how to build a raised garden.
I am planning on growing primarily crops that Native Americans grew, because I figure those would work best based on my sourroundings. Those plants are squash, pinto beans, corn.

Also debating growing tomatillo (because urban farm says it is easy), tomato (because I love a fresh tomato) and eggplant (because there is an expression in Arabic that says “A Woman who asks her husband what he wants for dinner during eggplant season is asking for a divorce.”)

I need to start the seeds indoor now for the tomatillo,

Reading about the history of Native American farming in the southwest, the most improtant thing was the harvesting of water. (Well, no duh). So I suppose I should be working on the harvesting of rain water at the same time.

So anybody got any seeds they want to spare?

Comments
    • I think they would take too much water, no? I am trying to keep with southwest plants, maybe chili peppers? I am also inclined to do less different types of plants because I will be learning everything from scratch and don’t want to get overwhelmed.

  1. I have basil seeds but I don’t know that you want spices at this point in your survival.

  2. I was thinking chili peppers, something native to the Southwest. But you’re right, keep it simple at first and get the staples down. I’m being all girlie, “I want flavor in my survival!” : )

    • Peppers are a good idea. They taste great, the spice help to keep you acclimated to the desert environment (this is an odd little fact) and also green chili is a preservative that helps meats last longer, which is why people make green chili. : )

      Variety in your garden may actually be what you need. Many native techniques for raising food mean planting several plants in the same area as they compliment each other, some adding to the soil and others taking from it.

      Plus you should look into edible desert plants, as there is quite a bounty in the desert that is pretty untapped by our modern pallet. Nopales, for instance. Prickly Pair takes a little effort to deal with the spines, but is good eats and very healthy for you. And grows on it’s own all over the place. : )

      • I love Nopales, I really like it in salads. It’s also supposed to be good for diabetes, as a random side fact.

        “Many native techniques for raising food mean planting several plants in the same area as they compliment each other, some adding to the soil and others taking from it.”

        I love that way of farming. It makes sense to me. The example I remember was a stalk of corn surrounded by beans, and that all surrounded by squash. It’s called, “The Three Sisters” by the Iroquois. (Thanks Jonathan for finding the name of it for me)

  3. All good points! Especially the idea of variety, now that you say that I remember reading that somewhere.

    Green chilli on meat sounds like a perfect idea.

    I am working on the edible desert plants, I went to the Botantical Garden last weekend as preliminary research.

Leave a Reply

