Water

Posted: December 29, 2010 in Phoenix, water
Tags: ,

It is raining today in Phoenix. There is snow if Flagstaff. To see how much water I could grasp I have placed a small cooler (measurements later) at the largest spill off my roof. I wonder how long it will take to fill, I placed it outside after a long but soft rain at 3:12.

I am not sure what I am going to do with this data once I compile it.

Update: I was able to fill a large trash can within 30 minutes from rain run-off.     How long could I survive on one large trash can of water?  Obviously I could have collected much more water from one rain storm that I could have stored.  How would one build a water storage unit in a post-apolcyptic world?  How long could one store water safely?

Goal this weekend is too build a walter filter, collect some water from the desert, clean it, drink it, and see if I get sick.

I am going to use the World Wildlife Foundation’s instructions on how to build a water filter, because it was the best one I could find in terms of clarity, and the most post-apocalyptic scenario descrption. Most sites I found for water purification are using modern toys that won’t neccesarilly be availible after the camping stores and hardware stores get raided.

I will need containers to hold the water, charchoal from a fire, a large gathering of small peebles and clean sand.

Leave a Reply

