It rained today

Posted: December 17, 2010 in arizona, Phoenix, prepper, Sonoran desert, water
Tags: , , , ,

It does not rain much in the desert. Water in Phoenix is a not-so-secret achilles hell. I stood in the rain and wondered how much I could have gathered at the last moment.  I know some people build roofs that gather the water and then they collect it.  I wonder how much I could gather in a pinch.  I suppose I should have measured the amount and then forecasted how long that would have lasted.

To do:

Next rain, fill the pots, to see how much I could gather in a pinch, and know how to filter the water.  Apparently sand matters.  But what constitutes sand?    Where could one gather it if not by the beach? And I will need to get my hands on some Alum, where they hell do I get that?

Comments
  1. CC says:

    All I know about alum is its used in tie dye. hmmm

Leave a Reply

